Home work – cat

Just recently I bought my first digital DSLR camera, a Canon 5D Mark II. I had previously only shot on 35mm film using SLR. As soon as it arrived I started shooting the closest thing I could find which was my cat Knoxville. I wanted to get comfortable in usesing the settings and just the general feel of my new camera. Here are some of the first images I shot with my camera. 

I chose to use black and white instead of colour because the cat is black and white and a black and white subject looks out of place with a coloured background.

My personal favourite is the one below. It was a play on a photograph I had shot previously. I shot this though the handle of the window and I like it because it frames the cat and his reflection in almost perfect symmetry.


This was the older image I tried to recreate but instead of shooting on 35mm film it was shot on DSLR.

Leave a Reply

