Silhouette

I wanted to try create a simple silhouette in the studio. How I did this was by placing the model in front of a continuous light source. I placed my camera on a tripod on the opposite side of the model from where the light is positioned.


I wanted it all the image to be black apart from the silhouette of the models face. I posstioned a large black panel at each side of the model. 


I shot the photograph at 100iso, 1000 shutter speed and f5. 

Here was the outcome of the the shoot.


I thought the photograph came out good and it looks quite interesting. In post production I decided to see what it would look like in black and white. 


I prefer the photograph in black and white. 

I wanted to try and create a lighter background rather than it just being all black. I placed a flash on low power behind/next to the continus light. I also asked the model to turn around because I found that it was difficult to hide the lights and its stands. Here are my attempts at creating a silhouette with a light background and set up.



To combat this I re-adjusted the model several times. 


I couldn’t quite get rid of the stand fully so I decided to remove the continus light altogether, this was at the risk of losing the golden light from around the models head. What I finished with was a gray to black background with a silhouette of the model.


If I was to do this again I would use a more focused continus light sauce to get the glow around the head of the model. 

I think the shoot turned out well and I am pleased with the outcome.

Leave a Reply

