Studio: Coin

I went into the studio to shoot a £2 coin to experiment with a macro lens. My initial idea was to place the coin on a peice of clear plastic with a black piece of slate underneath. I wanted to capture the reflection of the coin.

I used one light with a snoot cone on.

From this setup I tried several different camera angles and positions of the coin.


I tried to spine the coin.


I took the layer of plastic off and place the coin on the slate. I moved the light down and faced it towards the coin. 


I think the photographs came out well but next time I’ll use I different object other than a coin.

Leave a Reply

