Quin

I shot some portraits of a friend Quin. I set up a blue backdrop in my house by hanging up a blue bed sheet. I positioned Quin in front of the window, and manipulated the light that was coming through the window by draping a white bed sheet down from the current rail to defuse that light. I shot some colour film Photographs and some digitally.

Using my digital camera I shot at ISO 400, 1/1000 of a second at F1.8 using a 50mm lens. I shot a high shutter speed because the lighting was very bright.

quinnyquinny2

I also shot some on colour film using an Olympus O10 camera, ISO100, F.1 and at 1/1000 shutter speed. I processed the film in the dark room then scanned them into the computer.

studio007Photo25_38

I prefer the film shots to the digital because of the skin tone colour. I shot at F1.8 on both because I wanted a small depth of field. I think it works well in portraits because it brings all the attention to what is in focus ie the facial features.

Leave a Reply

