CV And Personal Statement

CV:

Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 15.16.59Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 15.17.23

 

Personal Statement:

I have a problem with time. It keeps passing at an annoyingly regular passé. But with a snap a moment in time can be captured, forever still, and I feel a little less troubled by the none stop tick of the clock.

I began my journey into photography through my career as a professional BMX rider. BMX gave me the opportunity to travel and meet new people. Knowing I was having opportunities to see places that I would maybe never see again, I borrowed an SLR film camera and took it away with me when I travelled. Here I found a way to freeze time and capture this part of my life. The seed planted, a passion with photography started to grow.

I’ve been riding BMX for over 10 years and have always looked at the industry for inspiration, this came in the form of magazines. Unknowing at the time but I was subconsciously digesting photography through these magazines. The logical next step after I started to pick up a camera was to shoot BMX. Shooting BMX came natural and I began to shoot anything and everything. I wanted to advance my knowledge so I decided to pursue photography in education.

Throughout my professional riding career, I worked with many professional photographers and had first hand experience seeing how they produce, manage and send finish work to clients. With this knowledge I have applied to how I have worked with my clients.

I enrolled in college on an arts and design course and progressed to university, I’m just finishing my first year at university. I have also been working freelance. Throughout my professional riding career, I worked with many professional photographers and had first hand experience seeing how they produce, manage and send finish work to clients. With this knowledge I have applied to how I work with my clients. I am pleased to say that I am also beginning to develop substantial experience in carrying out professional shoots, and have provided photographic services for a number of different individuals.

A highlight of which has been having the opportunity to work on sets of short films where I have taken the Still Photography. I find the fast pace of the work environment thrilling and I like working with other creative minded people. Most notably I worked with Channel 4, shooting stills for a short film out this summer.

It is my firm aspiration to become a full-time professional photographer. I believe that by studying photography at university I will gain a broad and deep understanding of photography as an art form, a profession, and an industry.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

